1st Conference on Sustainable Water Resource Management (SWRM-21

Centre of Excellence in Water Resources Engineering (CEWRE), University of Engineering and Technology (UET), Lahore organized one day 1st Conference on “Sustainable Water Resources Management”. The conference was graced by Minister of Irrigation, Punjab, Pakistan Mr. Muhammad Mohsin Khan Leghari as a Chief Guest. The conference was attended by the participant from forty-nine different institutions and organizations from Pakistan. Director CEWRE Prof. Dr. Noor Muhammad Khan inaugurated the conference by welcoming the participants and highlighted the main themes. During opening speech by chief guest, Muhammad Mohsin Khan Leghari emphasized the role of educational institutes and utilization of modern techniques for sustainable water management. Keynote speaker Dean Faculty of Civil Engineering Prof. Dr. Habib-Ur-Rehman highlighted the importance of sustainable aquifer management through recharging techniques. Ex GM, WAPDA Engr. Shahid Hameed highlighted the role of WAPDA in efficient water resources development of Pakistan and future plans for Hydropower and water conservation projects. Country Representative IWMI Pakistan Dr. Mohsin Hafeez discussed the issues and challenges of Indus River and emphasis on the installation of monitoring systems. Chairman PCRWR Pakistan Dr. Muhammad Ashraf and Ex-DG Water Management Engr. Mushtaq Ahmad Gill expressed their views about sustainable water resources management. In three technical sessions, eighteen technical papers were presented with focus on climate change impact assessment, soil erosion and hydraulics and agriculture water management. The participation was from various national organization/institutes including University of Lahore, Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan, Balochistan University of Information Technology, Engineering, and Management Sciences, UET Taxila, National Engineering Services Pakistan, University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, COMSATS University, University of Punjab, Lahore apart from Centre of excellence in Water Resources Engineering. In concluding session Prof. Dr. Noor Muhammad Khan appreciated the organizing team of the conference especially Dr. Kaleem Sarwar, Dr. Ijaz Ahmad, Engr. Faraz ul Haq and Engr. Muhammad Awais Zafar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two + thirteen =